“Walking in Memphis,” Marc Cohn, 1991


“Walking in Memphis,” Marc Cohn

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KK5YGWS5H84

Writer: Marc Cohn

Producer: Marc Cohn and Ben Wisch

Artist: Marc Cohn, born in Cleveland, Ohio on July 05, 1959, lost his mother at age 2 and his father also died young when Marc was only 12 years-old; described “Walking in Memphis” as a “spiritual awakening to the Blues,” 100% autobiographical; traveled through Memphis to see Graceland and a sermon by Al Green, and found home

Accolades: (1) Best New Artist Award at the Grammy’s in 1992, (2) Peaked on the US Billboard’s Hot 100 Charts at #13, (3) Peaked at # 22 on UK Chart, (4) Peaked at #7 on Mainstream Rock Tracks, (5) #74 on Hot Country Chart, (6) Played with blues and classic rock and folk rock legends Bonnie Raitt, Jackson Brown, Graham Nash, and David Crosby, and backed-up Tracy Chapman in 1989 on the piano, (7) record went Platinum in US and Gold in UK

Inspired by: Carly Simon  (who discovered him in 1989), Joni Mitchell, and Muriel who went “Home” in 1992

Other Musical Groups: The Supreme Court, performed at Caroline Kennedy’s wedding in 1986

Released: 1991(recorded in 1990), released also on a single, 7″ and CD maxi, and on Cohn’s (first) self-titled debut album, Marc Cohn

Record Label:  Atlantic Records

Posted to Youtube by :  TheClassic90s on  August 10, 2011

Sources: http://www.songfacts.com; Wikipedia;

 

Put on my blue suede shoes
And I boarded the plane
Touched down in the land of the Delta Blues
In the middle of the pouring rain

W.C. Handy
Won’t you look down over me
Yeah, I got a first class ticket
But I’m as blue as a boy can be

Then I’m walking in Memphis
Was walking with my feet, ten feet off of Beale
Walking in Memphis
But do I really feel the way I feel

Saw the ghost of Elvis
On Union Avenue
Followed him up to the gates of Graceland
Then I watched him walk right through

Now security they did not see him
They just hovered ’round his tomb
But there’s a pretty little thing, waiting for the king
Down in the Jungle Room

When I was walking in Memphis
I was walking with my feet, ten feet off of Beale
Walking in Memphis
But do I really feel the way I feel

They’ve got catfish on the table
They’ve got gospel in the air
And Reverend Green, be glad to see you
When you haven’t got a prayer
Boy, you got a prayer in Memphis

Now Muriel, plays piano
Every Friday at the Hollywood
And they brought me down to see her
And they asked me if I would

To do a little number
And I sang with all my might
She said, “Tell me are you a Christian child?”
And I said, “Ma’am, I am tonight”

Walking in Memphis
(Walking in Memphis)
I was walking with my feet, ten feet off of Beale
Walking in Memphis
(Walking in Memphis)
But do I really feel the way I feel

Walking in Memphis
(Walking in Memphis)
I was walking with my feet, ten feet off of Beale
Walking in Memphis
(Walking in Memphis)
But do I really feel the way I feel

Put on my blue suede shoes
And I boarded the plane
Touched down in the land of the Delta Blues
In the middle of the pouring rain
Touched down in the land of the Delta Blues
In the middle of the pouring rain

Songwriters
COHN, MARC

Published by
Lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

Ahh, the memories…Memphis in May, Beale’s Street, BB King’s, Silky O’Sullivan’s, awesome coppers who knew that if you treat the people right, they will definitely give you the full respect you deserve, the lights on the riverbank at night, right out of the pages of a John Grisham novel, the lights whirring across the bridge at midnight driving back across I-40 where the radio station automatically switches to down-home Memphis blues station at the exact mid-point of the bridge that feels like one just got transported to another place in time–priceless.  Shudder and Smile.  “These were good old days” (that’s Carly Simon for the newer generation, actually, before mine, too, but some of us are just born “old souls” as they say, whatever that means, but I think it must mean something if others like you say it so often).  It appears as though Marc Cohn is an “old soul,” as they say, and definitely a kindred spirit.

Then, who could forget the Graceland tour, the jog in the scorching, humid heat in mid-town Memphis inflamed with the aroma of Memphis barbeque, the Crawdad Festival with Melissa Etheridge playing at the cafe, the party at the artist’s studio that might as well have been a tour given by Buddy Holly into Andy Warhol’s Factory, but with way more chic, modern retro/glam decor?  How did we fit all that and more into a regular weekend?

I get chills every time I hear this one, especially at the end.  I dedicate this song to Eric Claus, his moms and step-dad who were totally cool, his sister, “Beani,” her fiance, Pat, I believe, and, ultimately to Maxine Rosenkeimer for the intro to Eric and Chuckie’s Alpine Mobile–Go Pittsburgh Steelers!

I won a contest for the piece I wrote based on that experience called “Monet May.”  It was one of my best.  I think I shall look for it and take a trip down memory lane.

Cheers!  Let the music play, and may it never end!  “What a long, strange trip it has been, indeed!

If you find this post, Maxine, it would be great to talk to you and your mom.  What is Mary up to these days, anyway?  I thought about your grandma since we had the same birthday.  May she rest in peace.  God bless!  Congratulations on what looks to be like a successful business venture, too!

Disclaimer:  Author of this post and blog does not own the copyright to this music.  It is intended only for entertainment purposes.  The producers, Marc Cohn and Ben Wisch own the music.

 

Leave a Reply

